Whistling for the Jaguar

The un-redacted story of the jaguar, Macho B's snaring and death.

Macho B

I first met Macho B in 1999 on a hiking trail close to my home.  My dogs and I were on a walk when we turned a bend in the trail and encountered the silhouette of a large cat perched on a rock in the twilight.  Our eyes met for the briefest of moments before my dogs gave chase and Macho B jumped from his perch, “coughing” while he ran in the opposite direction.  My dogs gave up in a matter of seconds and ran back to me only to pass by and continue down the trail back to our home.  I was left alone in the small canyon with a vocalizing jaguar for the most profound minutes of my life.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

