Whistling for the Jaguar

The un-redacted story of the jaguar, Macho B's snaring and death.

Congratulations…

All emails are in reference to the capturing and collaring of Macho B.

Ron Thompson sends an email to McCain on 2-19-09 with the subject line; “He did it.” There is no message attached. McCain responds in part: “Congrats to all. A great accomplishment! Thank you for all your help on your end in making this happen.” Thompson responds in part: “…all your hard work and knowledge paid off. It could not have happened without you. Thorry was so excited we were yelling and hooping over the phone…I hope I armed Thorry enough with the Section 6 wording and answers to not get him in trouble.”

Jack Childs to McCain, Thompson, Smith, and Bristow: “Congratulations team on the successful collaring of this animal. I have always felt comfortable with this team of biologists and your ability to conduct this monumental event successfully…Good Work, Well Done”

From McCain to his academic advisor in an email titled ,We’ve collared Macho B,” Thought you might like to know that my plan worked. We are on line!”

From an email chain from McCain to Smith and Crabb,” WOW!…Congratulations to you and Thorry…I am so excited, I don’t know what to do with myself!”

From Terry Johnson, Endangered Species Coordinator of AZGFD, to Childs and McCain: “I cannot sufficiently express how indebted we all are to you and all your assistants for putting us all in this position…What we have been stressing is that (1) the capture-and-collaring were an AGFD event that came off as planned because JAGCT and BJDP had spent a decade preparing for it; and post-collaring monitoring is being conducted by BJDP, “the field arm of the JAGCT”… Again, congratulations and many, many thanks!”

In another Johnson email, this one titled, “Confidential” and sent to the scientific advisory board of the JAGCT, Johnson praises Childs and McCain and ends the email with, “God bless Jack Childs and Emil McCain. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.”

Smith emails Dr. Aguilar in part: ” I can’t tell you how thankful I am for your help and insight. There’s nothing like going into such an unlikely situation prepared…When things cool down here I’ll sed (sic) some pictures (I was told to keep things low key for a bit).”  Aguilar responds, “…I can’t really express how delighted I am that you were able to do this. We had been talking about it so long that the Jaguar Conservation Group was actually the Jaguar Conversation Group.”

And in an email from McCain to a property owner whom had allowed BJDP to place a camera on her and her husband’s ranch: ” I have to tell you I have pulled a hell of a fast one on the system here. I orchestrated this whole thing, including being out of the country when it happened. I chose my team (of qualified agency biologists), I set the snares and I waited till I knew what was coming. Then I placed a little of my very, very special sauce and jumped on a plain (sic). Now I am the only one with access to the data and I am sitting like the fat cat himself!”

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Congratulations…

  1. Holy cow….er, cat.

Leave a Reply

