Whistling for the Jaguar

The un-redacted story of the jaguar, Macho B's snaring and death.

Scat

Above are two photos I took at Macho B’s capture site on March 4, 2009, two days after he was euthanized. The photos are of the scat I was directed to place by McCain. In the bottom photo, where my sweatshirt is stretched across the ground between the mesquite tree and a boulder, is approximately where the snare was. At the time I took the photos I wasn’t sure if it was THAT scat or scat from another animal or time. I arrived back to Arizona after spending time with my family back east early on the morning of April 7. Hours later I had my first interview with the USFWS Special Agents as the criminal investigation into Macho B’s snaring and death had begun after my allegations were made known to AZGFD/USFWS and published in the AZ Daily Star (see blogroll for link to article). Though the agents had been to the capture site the day before, April 6, I learned later in the discovery of my case they didn’t notice the scat that day. After speaking with me on April 7th they went back and found it. It was collected and sent to the USFWS forensic lab in Ashland, Oregon where it was confirmed to be jaguar scat from a female and a jaguar of indeterminate sex. According to Stuart Wells of the Phoenix Zoo, whom had supplied the scat to McCain for BJDP, the scat collected for him was from both the male and female jaguars housed at the Zoo. McCain, too, missed the scat when he went to “clean up” the snaring area of scat after his conspiratorial conversation with Smith. When the agents told him the DNA results of the scat he accused me of planting it.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

